Francis Routh: Four Marian Antiphons Op 50 download


Complete score available for download.

99 in stock

SKU: RED000072 Categories: , , Tag:


1.  Alma Redemptoris Mater (1990)

‘for David Herman’

Alma Redemptoris Mater is the first of four Marian Antiphons, and was sung at that season of the year  between Advent/Christmas and Candlemas (2 February), in the mediaeval monastic tradition. It celebrates the Annunciation, and the Magnificat, and in this setting for organ the 11th century plainchant is played in its entirety twice, with a different realisation each time.   The first time it is played (to bar 64), the music suggests the Annunciation, with affirmative statements and explicit tonality (f), answered by hesitant questioning, and ambivalent tonality (pp). The second time it is played (bar 65 to the end), the plainchant is heard with the same tonal and harmonic progressions as the first time, but with full and varied polyphonic treatment, suggesting the full acceptance of the Annunciation, and finishing with certainty and explicit tonality (ff).

First performance 20 May 1990 New York (St Thomas, 5th Avenue)
by David Herman

2.  Ave Regina Coelorum (1998)

‘for Christopher Bowers-Broadbent’

First performance 9 November 1998 Coventry Cathedral
by Christopher Bowers-Broadbent

3.  Regina Coeli Laetare (1995)

‘for Gillian Ward Russell’

First performance 18 February 1995 Brasted, Kent (St Martin’s Church)
by Gillian Ward Russell

4.  Salve Regina (1988)

‘for Gillian Ward Russell’

First performance 6 November 1988 London (St Cyprian’s, Clarence Gate) by Gillian Ward Russell